3 Reasons Finance Majors Make the Best Hires

As a Professor of Finance and Economics at SUNY Geneseo for 17 years, I have taught hundreds of bright and talented finance majors, who have been rigorously tested and molded into formidable graduates through their field of study. Having been through a similar curriculum myself — I hold a Masters in Economics from Nankai University and a PhD in Finance from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign — I can confidently say that finance majors make highly valuable hires who are well equipped to take on the JPMorgans, Goldman Sachs and James Streets of the world once they graduate.

What sets them apart? There are 3 key qualities which make finance majors the best hires for part-time jobs and entry-level jobs.

Eager Learners

Markets constantly change which forces finance majors to study the markets, trends and new industries. These students must be eager learners to keep up with these rapidly altering markets. It is necessary for these students to stay up to date on finance publications (i.e. The Economist, Business Week, Barron’s, etc.), and keep a close eye on the stock market. [blockquote background=”Lighter Blue: #53B3E5″]Looking for finance major jobs? Check out this Accounting Internship and this Investment Advisory Internship.[/blockquote]

Critical thinking skills

Students across the board are taught to think critically, however, finance students are especially analytical. In every class that they take, they are asked to dig into the numbers and study trends while giving them meaning.

“My finance classes taught me to always very carefully analyze my decisions and my work,” says Ken Chenault, a Harvard 2012 graduate who concentrated in Economics and has worked for Goldman Sachs and for a small private equity firm

Well Calculated Risk Takers