WayUp Bosses: Students Hired by Brick & Portal

Brick & Portal is a tech-forward fashion platform that brings tastemakers and top brands closer together. This company is disrupting the social commerce space and has built themselves an all-star team. Using WayUp, they hired not one but three stellar candidates as Creative Summer Interns. So, we decided to catch up with two out of these three #WayUpbosses about the job search and what their future with Brick & Portal looks like this summer!

Jennifer K., rising Junior at Rutgers University

What is your current job and what was the interview process like? Currently, I am an intern for Brick & Portal, which I found out through WayUp.

After applying, I was offered an interview with the CEO and COO. We met at a coffee shop right by their office, and I had a wonderful time speaking with them. They were so easy going and showed great interest in the smallest details I told them about myself. I definitely felt comfortable and in-tune with them during the interview.

What do you hope to learn from this internship?

I hope to have hands-on experience with fashion. If I could attend events, speak with some organizers, and work alongside some designers we are partnered with, I would be absolutely thrilled.

Any embarrassing/funny stories from past jobs or interviews? Oh boy…well one time an employer asked me to tell her a unique fact about myself that would make me stand out from other interviewees. The first thing that came to my head was what I blurted out: “I can snap with all ten of my fingers!” True fact, by the way. He wasn’t so convinced, so when I showed him, his jaw dropped to the floor. Needless to say, I got the job!