Who Is Really Reviewing Your Resume at a Large Company?

Submitting a resume to a large company can be pretty bleak. Whether it’s uploading a PDF to an infinite online resource management system or putting a physical copy into the hands of a recruiter along with a million others, it feels a lot like throwing your soul into the abyss and just hoping it will crash into someone who thinks you’re mildly interesting. In other words, it feels a lot like Tinder.

Fear not, my friends: All hope is not lost. Before coming on board at WayUp, I was a Business Analyst at Deloitte Consulting LLP, and one of my favorite non-client activities was going back to my alma mater, the University of Pennsylvania, during what we referred to as our On-Campus Recruiting (OCR) season. Watching juniors and seniors run around in suits and remembering how stressed out I was trying to find an internship and then a full-time job, I realized that the grass is, in fact, greener on the other side. So now I’m here with all of my not-so-worldly perspective to clear up the fog on who is (probably) reading your application and how to impress them enough to get to the interview!

Campus Recruiter

Human Resources at a large firm is essentially a separate HR company within a larger firm. Actually, in Deloitte’s case, HR is part of a larger distinct legal entity for support services. There is going to be someone, or a team of people, whose entire job is to recruit college students at your school or in your region. They are SO helpful, generally more responsive than any practitioner you may have met at an information session, and also just obsessed with finding the best people for that company. They are there to make your life easier. Do not blow them off because some elitist part of your mind thinks they are “just HR.” I have seen this happen. I have made sure that everyone who saw that person’s application knew that person was super rude. I never saw those individuals get an interview after that.