PT Child Care for 2 Boys (ages 6 & 8) in West Village 3-7pm

Family of 4

Family of 4

PT Child Care for 2 Boys (ages 6 & 8) in West Village 3-7pm

New York, NY
Part Time
Paid
  • Responsibilities

    We are a family of 4 living in the center of the NYU campus near 5th Avenue and 9th Street. We have two wonderful sons — one who is 8 going into 3rd grade and one who is 6 going into 1st grade. They attend P.S. 41 at 6th Avenue and 9th Street, 2 blocks away.

    Both boys are in school until 3pm each weekday and have after-school programming. Depending on the day, we will need childcare from 3pm until 7 or 730 PM.

    The daily routine is predictable and consistent once the school semester begins. Pick both up at 3pm and take them to their after school activities — most often soccer practice but also other activities like cooking, chess and language. Bring them home and help them with their homework: reading, math, and other exercises. We make meals and leave them in the fridge each Sunday, so dinner involves heating up one of these meals and serving it to the children.

    The ideal candidate will have babysitting experience and would be available M-F from 3PM-730PM and will be able to occasionally work a full day on school vacation days. We may ask you to stay late once every couple weeks but that would be paid in addition /on top of our agreed upon rate. We have other evening babysitters we can ask so it’s OK if you can’t stay.

    We're looking for someone who will enjoy participating in our boys' growth and development and who will bring the same love, attention, empathy, sweetness, caring, and sense of right and wrong that we would if we were so lucky as to spend our afternoons with our boys.

    We think this is one of the best jobs in the city and hope to find someone who shares our approach to childcare, our love of the City, and (eventually) our love for our children.

    If you are interested, and if you can commit to consistently being able to care for our children between 3pm and 730PM, please reach out to us at robinanderika@gmail.com

    Thank you - we look forward to meeting you!

  • Qualifications

    Prior experience caring for children (ideally more than one) of comparable age, including part-time child-care or regular babysitting engagements. We prefer to have a candidate who is college educated and in the past have had a great experience with recent grads working in the creative arts in New York (performance arts, comedy, writing) who value having their days and evenings for themselves, but want consistent, rewarding, fulfilling work and, as our previous nanny said, a "New York Family" of their own.

  • Compensation
    $18-$20/hour
  • Industry
    Other
  • About Us
    We are a family of 4 living in Greenwich Village in New York City. We are seeking part-time childcare for our two boys, ages 6 and 8, on weekdays between 3 and 7pm, plus select nights and weekends.