Need afternoon nanny (prefer educator + prefer mandarin speaker)

A Family on the Westside

Need afternoon nanny (prefer educator + prefer mandarin speaker)

117 locations
Los Angeles, CA
Los Angeles, CA
Los Angeles, CA
Los Angeles, CA
Los Angeles, CA
Los Angeles, CA
Los Angeles, CA
Los Angeles, CA
Los Angeles, CA
Los Angeles, CA
Los Angeles, CA
Los Angeles, CA
Los Angeles, CA
Los Angeles, CA
Los Angeles, CA
Los Angeles, CA
Los Angeles, CA
Los Angeles, CA
Los Angeles, CA
Los Angeles, CA
Los Angeles, CA
Los Angeles, CA
Los Angeles, CA
Los Angeles, CA
Bell, CA
Culver City, CA
Downey, CA
Gardena, CA
Huntington Park, CA
Lynwood, CA
Malibu, CA
Rancho Palos Verdes, CA
South Gate, CA
Santa Monica, CA
Torrance, CA
Torrance, CA
Whittier, CA
Whittier, CA
Cypress, CA
La Mirada, CA
Norwalk, CA
Santa Fe Springs, CA
Artesia, CA
Lomita, CA
Paramount, CA
San Pedro, CA
Wilmington, CA
Carson, CA
Carson, CA
Carson, CA
Long Beach, CA
Long Beach, CA
Long Beach, CA
Long Beach, CA
Pasadena, CA
Pasadena, CA
Pasadena, CA
Pasadena, CA
Pasadena, CA
Pasadena, CA
Pasadena, CA
Glendale, CA
Glendale, CA
Glendale, CA
Canoga Park, CA
Canoga Park, CA
Newhall, CA
Northridge, CA
Reseda, CA
San Fernando, CA
Sylmar, CA
Canyon Country, CA
Valencia, CA
Tarzana, CA
Thousand Oaks, CA
Woodland Hills, CA
Van Nuys, CA
Van Nuys, CA
Burbank, CA
Burbank, CA
North Hollywood, CA
Azusa, CA
Baldwin Park, CA
South El Monte, CA
Glendora, CA
La Puente, CA
Rowland Heights, CA
Monterey Park, CA
West Covina, CA
Alhambra, CA
Alhambra, CA
Irvine, CA
Costa Mesa, CA
Costa Mesa, CA
Huntington Beach, CA
Westminster, CA
Santa Ana, CA
Fountain Valley, CA
Anaheim, CA
Fullerton, CA
Fullerton, CA
Fullerton, CA
Garden Grove, CA
Garden Grove, CA
Garden Grove, CA
Orange, CA
Camarillo, CA
Moorpark, CA
Simi Valley, CA
Palmdale, CA
Hollywood, CA
Artesia, CA
City of Industry, CA
Irwindale, CA
West Hills, CA
Santa Clarita, CA
Santa Clarita, CA
Part Time
Paid
  • Responsibilities

    Overview: Our 4.5 year old daughter is in pre-K until 2:45pm, but is free in the afternoon, during which she plays at home, has various play dates and other classes and activities. This job primarily involves showing up at our house at 2:15, driving our car to pick her up, and driving her to those activities, and then engaging her and supervising her in the substantial at-home or out-doing-activities time before we get home between 6:00-7:00. We do expect a nanny working for us to opportunistically do light housework or errands when our daughter is occupied with an at-home tutoring session, etc. We can add hours either before or after, but these hours will be predominantly light housekeeping hours (at the same hourly rate). We could offer up to 7 daily hours, but the minimum range is 2:15 to 7. Our daughter is an expressive, extroverted, helpful, engaged child who finds delight in most things. She loves art, building, cooking, and talking about the whys and hows and whats of people and the world. While she is pretty mature and handles setbacks well vs most kids of her age, we have found she thrives in the presence of firm boundaries and when challenged intellectually, which is the sort of environment the best preschool teachers can provide for her. She speaks Mandarin Chinese fluently, on par with her English. If you also speak Mandarin Chinese and are willing to speak it with her while watching her, that is highly desirable for us, but not required. We sometimes have opportunities for additional work such as when she is sick or when we have something going on on a weekend. She also has a lot of school holidays, and on these dates, you certainly can work for us longer if you want. This probably amounts to 10-15 hours a month of extra work on average, but is optional. We'd want to figure out in an interview how much of this you would likely do though. We'd love to find an ideal person who can work with us for at least several years! Benefits & Pay: - Hourly rate depends upon the particulars of your qualifications, but we would seek to make the pay on the 'generous side of reasonable' for where you are at in your career. We insist on being 'over the table' on taxes, but understand in pay negotiations that we may be competing against nanny employers who do not. - Bonus. We don't guarantee a bonus, but we typically bonus our nannies around 2.5% annually. - Retirement Plan. We offer a retirement plan (SIMPLE IRA) with some employer matching (contributions up to a certain amount are matched dollar for dollar). This also when used does provide tax advantages to you. This is very similar to a 401k. There may be IRS restrictions on how much you can utilize our plan alongside plans that the UC system offers. - Incidentals. While taking our daughter around to activities, you can get at our expense your own drinks, meals and snacks when buying her meals, drinks and snacks. - Vacation - We offer a handful of major federal holidays (Christmas, Thanksgiving, Labor Day, Memorial Day, 4th of July, New Years Day), and 2 weeks a year of our choosing (generally when we take vacation), along with 3 sick days, and a to-be-negotiated discretionary amount of vacation for you on your schedule. All vacation and sick time is fully paid as if you worked normal hours. - We would consider subsidizing reasonable tuition fees for coursework that would be relevant to this job. Job Responsibilities: - Drive our child to and from various activities (using our car). - Provide a safe, loving, nurturing environment to assist our daughter in healthy emotional and cognitive development. - Engage our child in conversation and play while providing effective boundaries and developmental support. A plus if you can also do this in Mandarin Chinese much of the time, but, again, not required. - Be responsible for our child's safety and well-being while working. - When needed at home, teach and/or provide and devise appropriate structured activities. - Collaborate with us in a transparent and 2-directional manner to ensure we are complementing each other and working on the same opportunities and challenges in our child's development. - Opportunistically, when time allows, help with other home tasks such as assisting in childcare of other children, running local errands using our car, doing small chores like laundry or taking out the trash, assisting in ingredient prep for dinner, etc. This is not the focus of the job, but it inevitably comes up here and there, and it's easier for everyone if you can do a bit when it makes sense to. Job Requirements: - Degree in early childhood development or similar, or equivalent experience. - At least 2 years of experience dealing full time with children in the 2-5 year age range in a professional setting. - Must be legally authorized to work in the United States and be able to provide documentation demonstrating this. - Must pass a background check. - Must be able to drive a car safely and have a reasonable driving background. - Good fit for our approach to working together, child discipline, and so forth. - Must provide references. - Must be fluent in English OR Mandarin. It's OK to be fluent in one and not the other. "Extra Credit" Qualifications/Nice to Haves: - Extensive preschool teaching experience. - Coursework in gifted education or advanced degrees in early childhood education. - Fluency in both English AND Mandarin. - Some amount of flexibility into other times, such as occasional weekend availability to work, etc.