Sorry, this listing is no longer accepting applications. Don’t worry, we have more awesome opportunities and internships for you.

Part-time after school childcare needed for 2 boys, 2 chickens and a dog

Townsend Family

Part-time after school childcare needed for 2 boys, 2 chickens and a dog

La Mesa, CA +29 locations
Part Time
  • Responsibilities

    Hello! We are a fun and friendly family of four searching for after school care for our two boys ages 8.5YO (2nd grade) and 5.5YO (kinder). Hours are M, T, Th, Fr 3:20 to 5/6pm; Wed 12:20 to 5/6pm. Basics: + transportation needed + CPR/first aid certified + non-smoking + experience with childcare + clean criminal and driving record Area: University City, San Diego Pay: $18-22/hour depending on experience Start Date: April 4th with a few "warm ups" in March (dates flexible) ALL the details: Kid care expectations: Pick up after school needed M, T, Th, Fri at 3:20. Wednesday at 12:20. School is located approximately 1 mile from our home. Kids both have daily homework routines that are the next priority (35 min - 1 hour nightly). Each child has a sport 1 day after school per week at a local field that you will need to drop them off at and the hang out with the other child (usually at the field) during practice. After school play dates with neighborhood friends are encouraged and we will facilitate those contacts for you. Our boys love art projects, community service projects, being silly, pretend play and costumes, nerf gun wars, scavenger hunts, baking bread, hiking, time at mission bay at the beach, and park play dates with friends (chess, kickball, backstop, baseball, and tag) are all favorite activities. Home care expectations: We need help with 1. Unpacking backpacks and washing lunch boxes, 2. Unloading/loading dishes, 3. Helping with the children's laundry 1 day a week, 4. Starting simple dinners 1 day per week, 5. Facilitating kids cleaning their rooms/play areas. Animal care expectations: We have a 10-year-old hypoallergenic 35lb dog who needs some attention from time to time (maybe take him to the park sometimes with you, make sure the kids feed him, have basic dog-know-how, and give him some love and attention). We also have two chickens that hang out in the backyard and will figure into your adventures at some level (boys have "chicken chores" to be fulfilled daily). Adult care expectations: Dad works from home - but isn't home all that much. Mom works from home, too, but does go to the office. We are used to a fair level of noise at home and will let you know if we need extra privacy to accommodate a conference call, etc. You are not expected to accommodate an "office" decibel level. Other: We are an experienced nanny-having family. We've worked with all sorts of people and here are the qualities that seem to work best for our family's needs: 1. Strong communication skills: Equally good with adults as with children. We're home a lot - so we've got to be on the same page. 2. High emotional intelligence: Our kids are sweet and sensitive. Your empathy is key - and helping them learn to regulate their emotions is part of the gig. It also helps with #1 as above. 3. Structured: Our kids thrive on routine and consistency. There are a few basic things that happen every day. We need your follow-through on them and motivate the ranks to comply. 4. High energy and creative: We need you to be the ringmaster of fun. We love people who are full of ideas and bursting with energy to make things happen. We are a family of shakers and do-ers. 5. Team player: Sometimes we need help with the laundry or dinner or the grocery list or wrapping a birthday present. We need flexible and gracious team players. Teamwork is a top family value - we've got your back, too. 6. Experienced: We really like experienced childcare providers. Being a nanny is a specialized skill. If you've never been a nanny before, it might be hard to convince us that you're right for the job. 7. Reliable: All of our childcare eggs are in your basket. If you can't make it every day, with rare exception, this isn't a good fit for you. 8. Basic stuff: Good driving record, clean criminal record, current CPR and first aid certifications, good-ish at adulting generally speaking, will be required. #1 FAQ: Can I bring my own kids? In the past this has never been as flexible as we needed (your kids have schedules too), and much younger children require different schedules, activities, and frankly - more attention. We will also be looking for full-time care starting the summer, with a week or two off for vacations. Maybe that's a good transition for you, too. If not, we'll lovingly part ways in mid-June, with hopes to see you again on evenings, weekends, or holidays. Thanks for reading this far and we hope to hear from you soon!

  • Locations
    La Mesa, CA • National City, CA • Carlsbad, CA • El Cajon, CA • Escondido, CA • La Jolla, CA • Oceanside, CA • Poway, CA • San Marcos, CA • Vista, CA • San Diego, CA